Gluten-Free Dieters, What do they Eat?
avatar

This won’t help you if you need to stop eating gluten. However, this is an attempt to help you understand the causes and limitations gluten-free dieters observe. People need to avoid gluten due to celiac disease, wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity.

Gluten is a protein in wheat, including some rarer grains such as barley, triticale, rye, kamut and barley.

Gluten’s function with wheat is to make bread “work,” make it stretch and rise, also chewy. But gluten can also be present in certain chocolate items, a few imitation seafoods, some deli products, sauces and certain vitamins. It is also included in some cosmetic products. In short, those avoiding gluten NEED TO BE LABEL READERS.

However, after the gluten intolerant have avoided harmful foods, there are many enjoyable foods to choose from:

  •     Beans, seeds, unprocessed nuts
  •     Fresh eggs
  •     Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  •     Fruits and vegetables
  •     Most dairy products

 

 

About Marty Martindale

Foodsite Magazine and Marty aim to help the cooking-challenged avoid dependence on others due to lack of cooking knowhow. We concentrate on quick breakfasts, portable lunches and “good-4-u” night meals. With readily available web translation, the magazine explains separate foods, a little of their history, their nutrition, suggested “go-withs,” serving ideas and links to foodsites with recipes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *